jhene Aiko – Chilombo

ALBUM: Jhene Aiko – Chilombo

Jhene Aiko finally shares her very much anticipated album, Chilombo.

To record her meditative third album, Jhené Aiko retreated to the lush hills of Hawaii and surrounded herself with crystals, incense, and singing bowls. It was an experiment in self-discovery and the healing powers of sound: Every song on Chilombo, which is also the R&B singer’s last name, features the transcendental tones of the ancient bowls, which are said to balance chakras and soothe anxiety.

They seemed to have worked: For a project about heartbreak, these songs are impressively, and infectiously, zen. Lead singles “Triggered (freestyle)” and “None of Your Concern” (featuring Big Sean) wrap intense, defiant messages in chill lullaby beats, and “Mourning Doves,” an intimate confessional that uses wind instruments to mimic soft bird calls, toes a line between bedroom ballad and New Age hymnal.

The 20-track project features appearances from Future, Miguel, Big Sean, Ty Dolla $ign, Nas, John Legend, Ab-Soul and Aiko’s father, Dr Chill. Originally slated for February 2020, the singer moved the date to March 6 and now the album has finally seen the light of the day.

Stream Jhene Aiko – Chilombo Album below:

Add comment

Most popular

Most discussed